An official website of the United States government


The “C5+1” is the regional diplomatic platform for the Government of the United States “plus” the Governments of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and the Republic of Uzbekistan (the C5).  The C5+1 enhances coordination between the United States and Central Asia to advance our shared goal:  an independent, prosperous, and secure Central Asia that addresses common concerns in partnership with the United States.

Since its inception in 2015, C5+1 engagement has increased U.S.-Central Asia dialogue and cooperation at the Ministerial level, through experts’ meetings, and through thematic working groups.  The C5+1 working groups – economy, energy and environment, and security – plus ongoing regional programs, training sessions, and workshops advance progress toward mutually agreed objectives.

In 2022, the C5+1 launched a Secretariat to establish formal procedures to identify and advance shared priorities, coordinate communications between participating governments, and plan high-level ministerials and other engagements.  The C5+1 continues to work collaboratively to strengthen the security, stability, and prosperity of the Central Asian region.