An official website of the United States government

Joint declaration on the occasion of the International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia and Transphobia (IDAHO
May 16, 2021

Collage of people holding signs affirming support for LGBTQ rights

Today is a festive day, a day of hope.  For more than 30 years, the International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia, and Transphobia (IDAHOBIT) has been celebrated on 17 May, uniting millions of people globally in support of the recognition of human rights for all, irrespective of sexual orientation, gender identity or expression and sex characteristics.

On this day, we wish to mark our continued solidarity with members of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex (LGBTI) community in Kazakhstan, and to raise awareness about the work that is still needed to combat all forms of discrimination.

We encourage the Government of Kazakhstan to fulfill its commitments towards the promotion and protection of human rights of all Kazakhstanis, regardless of their sexual orientation, gender identity or expression and sex characteristics. We remain concerned about continued discrimination, harassment and violence faced by the members of the LGBTI community in Kazakhstan. We call on the authorities to take specific measures to improve legislation and its implementation at all levels, to ensure adequate protection against all forms of discrimination.

The current Covid-19 pandemic will have a long-lasting impact on the work of social activists as well as on LGBTI individuals and their families, who continue to suffer from online and offline intimidation and violence. Following this year’s IDAHOBIT theme “Together: Resisting, Supporting, Healing!”, we want to send a message of hope: you are not alone, we stand by your side.

Today, we celebrate love in all its diversity. Every day, we commit to defend the universality of human rights, and uphold the dignity and equality of all people.

Embassy of Austria
Embassy of Canada
The Delegation of the European Union
Embassy of Estonia
Embassy of Finland
Embassy of France
Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany
Embassy of Greece
Embassy of Italy
Embassy of Israel
Embassy of the Kingdom of Belgium
Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Embassy of the Kingdom of Spain
Embassy of Portugal
Embassy of the Slovak Republic
Embassy of South Africa
Embassy of Sweden
Embassy of Switzerland
Embassy of Ukraine
Embassy of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Embassy of the United States of America